Akpabio, Speaker, Journalist win Senate seats in A’Ibom

Must read

By Odo Ogenyi, Uyo

Former Senate Minority Leader, Chief Godswill Akpabio, State House of Assembly Speaker, Barr Aniekan Bassey and a journalist Barr Ekong Sampson have all won their Senate seats in last weekend’s National Assembly elections held in Akwa Ibom.

Akpabio, of the APC polled 115,401 votes to defeat the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Barr Emmanuel Enoidem, who scored 69,838 votes in Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District

In Eket senatorial district, Barr. Ekong Sampson of the PDP polled a total of 79,327 to defeat Obong Martyns Udoinyang of the APC who came a distant second with 33,256 while a former Works Commissioner in the State and candidate of the Young Progressive Party(YPP), Mr. Ephraim Inyang-eyen came third with 19,336. Inyang-eyen.

In Uyo Senatorial District, Bassey of the PDP polled 98,634 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Emeyeak Ukpong of the APC who polled 43,204 votes and Barr Useneobong Akpabio of YPP who polled 37,679 votes.

In the House of Representatives election, the PDP won in Uyo, Eket, Ukanafun,  Itu, Etinan, Ikot Abasi and Oron while the APC won in Abak, Ikot Ekpene federal Constituencies.

The result for Ikono/Ini Federal Constituencies was declared inconclusive as election could not hold in some areas due to violent disturbances.

Copyright DAYBREAK.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NEWS.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article