FG Appoints 11 CMDs to Manage Federal Medical Facilities Across Nigeria

Must read

By Joyce Remi-Babayeju

Federal Government has appointed 11 new Medical Directors to manage the Federal Government established Medical Facilities across the Country.

The new CMDs include Prof. Nyandanti Yakub Wilberforce – MD, FMC, Hong, Adamawa State, Prof. Issa Baba Awoye – MD, Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Buddo-Egba, Kwara State, Dr. Umar Faruk Abdumajid – MD, FMC Daura, Katsina State, Dr. Muhammad Shittu Adamu – MD, FMC, Wase, Plateau, Prof Shuaibu Jauro Yahya – MD, FMC, Mubi, Adamawa State, Dr. Mercy Anugwu – MD, FMC, Onitsha, Anambra State, , Prof. Auwalu Sani Salihu– FNPH Dawanau Kano State, Prof. Rufai Ahmed – Registrar/ CEO, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria.

Others are Prof. Mangwa J. Kortar – MD, FMC, Makurdi, Benue State, Prof. Robinson Chukwudi Onoh CMD, Alex Ekwueme, Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakiliki, Ebonyi State, Dr. Nurudeen Isa – MD, National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dala, Kano State who received their appointment letters previously.

Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health, Kachollom Daju presented the appointment letters covering an initial Four year tenure with effect from 1st August, 2023 to the new CMDs recently at the FMOH Headquarters Abuja.

Daju charged the new appointees to work together with the health workers and stakeholders as a team, provide a conducive work environment and Infrastructure in order to achieve high standard health care.

She said,“It may be challenging but there is no challenge that is unsurmountable and your appointment is an indication of the confidence that Federal Government reposed on you.”

The Permanent Secretary enjoined the appointees to mull together their skill and wealth of experience they acquired overtime to affect their various health facilities, adding that their performance will determine the renewal of their tenure.

Daju gave them the assurance that the Ministry will organize an induction training to the newly appointed MDs while providing the necessary support to enable them meet the hospital standard.

Dr. Mercy Anugwu who spoke on behalf of the appointews expressed appreciation to the President and the Ministry for finding them worthy of the appointment assuring that they will not disappoint.

She said, “We will do our best to improve the lot of our people, to justify the confidence reposed in us by the President and the Ministry, we will put in what it takes to move the health care system in our facilities going forward, we will not rest, we will move along with the vision of Mr. President and make sure that our people receive the best, we will not disappoint you.”

Director, Regulatory and Professional Schools, FMOH, Dr. Anuma Ogbonnaya, acknowledged the importance and enormous nature of the appointment, noting that “to whom much is given, much is expected.”

He urged them to work hard, operate an open door policy and carry everybody along ensuring that the health facilities are upgraded and function optimally to deliver evidence, based on medical care to the teeming population of Nigeria.

Copyright DAYBREAK.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NEWS.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article