Nasarawa Assembly confirms 16 commissioner nominees.

Must read

“… proceeds on recess…”

From Leo Zuanke, Nassarawa

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly on Tuesday screened and confirmed 16 out of the 17 commissioner nominees sent to it by Gov. Abdullahi Sule.

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi announced this after their screening during the House proceedings on Tuesday in Lafia.

Abdullahi congratulated and wished them the best in their new assignments.

The Speaker said that the House screened and confirmed 16 commissioner nominees that have appeared for the screening.

He said that a commissioner nominee, Haruna Musa from Nassarawa Eggon LGA did not appeared for the screening, saying that he was indisposed at the moment.

” Those 16 commissioner nominees that have appeared, screened and confirmed are Hon. Yakubu Kwanta -Akwanga LG, Aishatu Rufai- Awe LG; Umar Abubakar Dan’akano – Awe;LG, Munirat Abdullahi – Doma;LG. Timothy Kasuwa – Karu;LG, Ja’afaru Ango, Karu,LG, Margaret Elayo – Keana; LG, Bala Mulki – Keffi;LG, and JOHN W Mamman – KOKONA LG.

“Others are Abubakar Imam Zanwa – Lafia;LG Samuel Kafu Emgba -Lafia,LG, Aliyu Ahmed Tijjani – Nasarawa;LG, Muhammed Iyimoga – Obi; LG, Labaran Magaji – Toto;LG, Gaza Gwamna, Toto; LG, Mu’azu Gosho – Wamba,LG” he said

The Speaker directed the Clerk of the House to communicate the House resolution to Gov. Abdullahi Sule for his further necessary action.

Earlier, the Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Mohammed Adamu Omadefu (APC- Keana) moved a motion for the confirmation of the commissioner nominees and was seconded by the House Minority Leader, Hon Luka Zhekaba ( PDP- Obi 11).

The House unanimously screened and confirmed 16 out of the 17 Commissioner nominees.

It would be recalled that on July 28, 2023 Gov. Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State has submitted a list of 17 commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly for screening and possible confirmation as members of the state executive council.

Besides, the House said it would commence recess tomorrow, Wednesday 2nd August, 2023 and to resume on 4th September, 2023.

Hon Mohammed Adamu Omadefu, the Majority Leader of the House moved a motion to that effect which was seconded by Hon Luka Zhekaba, the Minority Leader of the House.


All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NIGERIA.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article