Senate banishes NDDC Interim Management

Must read

Leader of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, on Thursday, banished the Interim Management of the Niger Development Commission (NDDC) from defending the office’s 2020 spending plan.

Lawan, while alluding President Muhammadu Buhari’s solicitation to the Senate Committee on NDDC, guided the board to manage individuals the Governing Board of the organization as of late screened and endorsed by the Senate.

While referring the agency budget proposals for 2020 to the Senate Committee on NDDC for further legislative work, Lawan said: “I want to also reiterate here that you (Senate Committee on NDDC) deal with the governing board this Senate has approved,”

The Senate had before blamed the justification behind the accommodation of the 2020 spending plan of the NDDC while individuals from the overseeing leading body of the office previously cleared by the have not expected obligation.

Read also: Buhari transmits NDDC’s 2019, 2010 budget to Senate

It could be reviewed that the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, had designated an Interim Management Committee to supervise the office, the freedom of selected Board individuals in any case.

Senate had portrayed the Interim Management as an abnormality when an affirmed body isn’t permitted to expect obligations as board individuals.

Individuals from the NDDC Governing Board affirmed by the Senate incorporate a previous Deputy Governor of Edo State, Dr. Pius Odubu and Bernard Okumagba as Chairman and Managing Director individually.

Others are Executive Director Projects, Engr. Otobong Ndem (Akwa Ibom), Executive Director Finance and Administration, Maxwell Okoh from Bayelsa State, Delta State delegate, Prophet Jones Erue; Chief Victor Ekhator (Edo) and Nwogu (Abia), Theodore Allison, speaking to Bayelsa State, Victor Antai (Akwa Ibom); Maurice Effiwatt (Cross River); Olugbenga Elema (Ondo) and Hon. Uchegbu Chidiebere Kyrian (Imo).

Likewise affirmed were the Northeast agent, Ardo Zubairu from Adamawa state, Ambassador Abdullahi Bage from Nasarawa State to speak to the North Central zone just as Aisha Murtala Muhammed, from Kano State, to speak to the Northwest Zone.

Notwithstanding, while the Senate was occupied with the thought procedures, the Niger Delta Affairs Minister selected a 3-man Interim Management Committee to over exercises of the Commission.

Those named by Akpabio incorporated the Acting Managing Director, Dr. Joi Nunieh, Acting Executive Director, Finance and Administration, Chief Ibanga Bassey Etang and the Acting Executive Director, Projects, Dr. Cairo Ojougboh.

Copyright DAYBREAK.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NEWS.

More articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article