“Governor Namadi Launches 25-Member Environmental Sanitation Committee”

Must read

By  Milcah  Tanimu

Mallam Umar A. Namadi, the Governor of Jigawa State, has officially initiated a monthly environmental sanitation committee with the aim of ensuring a clean and healthful environment throughout the state.

The committee was inaugurated during a ceremony held at the Council Chambers of the Government House in Dutse on Wednesday.

Governor Namadi stated that the committee was established to strategize and execute sanitation initiatives. Its responsibilities include coordinating the efforts of task forces and local government petition committees in conducting the monthly sanitation exercise, thereby promoting a clean environment and fostering the well-being of the state’s residents.

He emphasized his administration’s commitment to safeguarding the population from environmental hazards and unhygienic practices.

“The state government has chosen to reintroduce this committee as part of our commitment to maintaining clean and safe environments within the state. This initiative is also aimed at instilling discipline and fostering a sense of communal responsibility, as we believe that collective participation in cleaning the environment reflects dedication and commitment.”

Governor Namadi assured the public of the government’s readiness to provide all necessary support to ensure the success of the sanitation exercise.

Following the inauguration, the chairman of the committee and Commissioner of Environment, Dr. Nura Dandoka, emphasized the pivotal role of a clean environment in reducing morbidity and mortality rates. He also encouraged journalists to collaborate with the government in raising awareness about environmental health issues.

Notable attendees at the inauguration included Mallam Bala Ibrahim, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG); Senator Mustapha Makama, Chief of Staff to the Governor (CoS); the State Commissioner of Police; representatives from the Department of State Services; representatives from the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps; representatives from the State Judiciary; Chairman of the Hisbah Board; representatives from the Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Agency (RUWASA) and Jigawa State Environmental Protection Agency (JISEPA); as well as representatives from the Emirs of Hadejia, Gumel, Dutse, Ringim, and Kazaure.

Copyright DAYBREAK.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NEWS.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article