Nigeria records 14 deaths from yellow fever in 7 months

Must read

At least 14 people have died of yellow fever disease in the country between January and July 2022, according to the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control.

Yellow fever, according to the World Health Organisation, is an acute viral haemorrhagic disease transmitted by infected mosquitoes, with accompanying symptoms such as fever, headache, jaundice, muscle pain, nausea, vomiting, and fatigue.

Once contracted, the virus incubates in the body for a few days but less than a week, although many patients do not experience symptoms.

While these symptoms disappear after three to four days in some patients, very few enter a second and more toxic phase within 24 hours of recovering from the initial symptoms.

In its latest report on Monday, September 5 about the disease, the NCDC stated that the fatalities were recorded in 10 states, including Zamfara which reported three deaths.

The NCDC added that Taraba and Katsina recorded two fatalities each, while other states that reported a death each, were Abia, Bayelsa, Benue, Imo, Kaduna, Kebbi, and Yobe.

The NCDC said a total of 1,179 suspected cases have been reported from 416 Local Government Areas (LGAs) across all 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) from January 1 to July 31.

“The cases were reported from the following states: Abia (36), Adamawa (18), Akwa Ibom (nine), Anambra (84), Bauchi (38), Bayelsa (13), Benue (24), Borno (100), Cross River (26), Delta (eight), Ebonyi (27), Edo (14), Ekiti (29), Enugu (67), FCT (five), Gombe (14), Imo (43), Jigawa (81), Kaduna (eight), Kano (four), Katsina (81), Kebbi (21), Kogi (15), Kwara (21), Lagos (four), Nasarawa (24), Niger (25), Ogun (25), Ondo (62), Osun (19), Oyo (73), Plateau (45), Rivers (23), Sokoto (16), Taraba (33), Yobe (31), and Zamfara (13),” the report said.

It added “A total of eight presumptive positive and six inconclusive results were recorded from the Nigeria Laboratory Network. These presumptive positives were from UBTH Benin (two), MDH Abuja (one), CPHL Lagos (three), YDMH (two).”

Copyright DAYBREAK.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NEWS.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article