Super Falcons Set For AWCON Title Defense in Ghana

Must read

African Women Cup of Nations reigning champions, Super Falcons of Nigeria will fly into Accra the Ghanaian capital on Wednesday, November 14, and thereafter head to Cape Coast ahead of the commencement of the 11th edition of the AWCON finals.

The Falcons will leave the Ivorian capital, having spent six days at the world-renowned football facility, Sol Beni Sports Centre (owned by ASEC Mimosas Football Club) in Abidjan, following a three –week preparatory program at the Jubilee Chalets and Resort in Epe, Lagos State.

The eight-time champions Nigeria who are favourites in Group B of the continental showpiece will contend with the Banyana Banyana of South Africa, Shepolopolo of Zambia and an Equatorial Guinea team restored into the tournament with only a few days following a CAF Appeal panel ruling.

Only Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea have been successful at the 20 –year old continental fiesta, with the latter emerging winners on the only two previous occasions, which they hosted them.

Only Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea have won the title in the 20-year old tournament with the Nzalang Nacional winning on the only two occasions they hosted the tournament (2008 and 2012). Whereas, the Super Falcons have dominated Africa winning at home in 1998, 2002 and 2006, winning in South Africa in 2000, 2004 and 2010, winning in Namibia in 2014 and winning in Cameroon in 2016.

Hosts Ghana, Algeria, Mali and Cameroon will battle things out in Group A in Accra.

Copyright DAYBREAK.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from DAYBREAK NEWS.

More articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article